This Institution – Sri Akilandeswari Women’s College, the then affiliated to Madras University was established in the year 1995 by Swamy Abedhanandha Educational Trust, Wandiwash which was established in accordance with the wishes of Pujyashri Swamiji Abedhanandha Saraswathi. Now this college is affiliated to Thiruvalluvar University, Vellore from 2002.

This college is named after the presiding deity of Thellar Village where the Institution initially functioned.

The late Swamiji had a lofty vision of uplifting the rural women from poverty and ignorance which helped in the blossoming of this only Women’s College in Thiruvannamalai District. Our College provides value based education giving emphasis on morality and discipline. This helps in producing patriotic citizens of the future, fulfilling the present need of our country.

Initially, this Institution was started with three Job – oriented Under Graduate Courses viz., Biochemistry, Microbiology and Nutrition Food Service Management and Dietetics with only 35 Students, Principal, 5 Faculty members and one office assistant. At present our Institution has grownup with 100 Faculty members, 50 Non Teaching staff and with 2500 students.

The college is now sprawling with elegant buildings, well equipped Library and well equipped Laboratories and with all required amenities for the students. Our Institution has steadily developed in to a popular and famous among the top most institutions of High caliber. Our aim and motive is to develope good morality and better standard in higher education. With our sustainable growth and achievements we add new valuable courses affiliated from Thiruvalluvar University. Now we are conducting 10 UG Courses 9 PG Courses and 5 M.Phil., Courses. We are the leading Women’s Institution conducting so many courses in the Thiruvalluvar University. NAAC peer committee visited our college during January 2006 for assessment and awarded the Grade B+ on February 2006. Our college is also included in the list of colleges approved by UGC under 2(f) of UGC Act during the academic year of 2006.

Our college has also received 12(B) under UGC Act, 1956 in the year 2015.

With the blessing of Goddess Sri Akilandeswari and Swamy Abedhanandha, our College will continue its journey to achieve the goal for which it was started. Thus the requirement of the students community is taken care by our Institution.


1. Dr. (Tmt.) A. Thilagavathi M.A.,M.Phil.,Ph.D 03.10.1995 23.06.1999
2. Dr. (Tmt.) Savithri Devaraj M.Sc.,B.Ed.,M.Phil.,Ph.D 24.06.1999 19.08.2004
3. Dr. (Tmt.)K. M. Saraswathy M.A.,M.Phil.,Ph.D 20.08.2004 30.04.2005
4. Dr. (Ms.) Brindha Ramachandraa M.Sc.,Ph.D 03.06.2005 12.04.2007
5. Prof. (Ms.) Suguna. K M.A.,M.Phil., 07.06.2007 05.06.2008
6. Dr. (Tmt.) R. Pushpavalli M.A.,M.Phil.,Ph.D 06.06.2008 11.06.2013
7. Dr. M.H.S. Mohamed Yacoob M.Sc.,Ph.D 12.06.2013 31.05.2017
8. Dr.S.Mythili M.Com., M.Phil., Ph.D., 01.06.2017 Till date